These Four Walls are a hard rock band originally formed in Auckland, New Zealand and now based on Queensland’s Gold Coast. They’ve recorded and released two full-length albums, Down Falls an Empire (2009) and Living to Write the End (2012).

The band are perhaps best known for their live shows, which are typically loud, heavy and tight with uniquely powerful vocal performances from singer Steve Gibb. This reputation has earned the band support slots for several touring international bands including Disturbed, Nickelback and Trivium, as well as top Australian rock acts Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect.

In April 2017, These Four Walls released their latest single, Bravery, with more planned to follow in the near future.


These Four Walls have recorded music videos for a number of singles, including Passenger, Lay it Out, Sweet Decemer, One Moment in Time and Love Song.

Subscribe to These Four Walls' Youtube Channel

Living to Write the End (2012)

These Four Walls sophomore album was released in October 2012, and achieved multiple successes on launch, including being the #1 selling album at JB Hi-Fi stores and reaching #14 on the NZ Album Chart.

The album was recorded at Loose Stones studio on the Gold Coast, with producer Matt Bartlem (Dead Letter Circus, Guards of May) and was mixed by veteran engineer Forrester Savell (Birds of Tokyo, I Am Giant). The album received overwhelmingly positive reviews from fans and critics alike.

“The 13 tracks of this album are an exhibition of These Four Walls’ musical depth and song writing ability. Steve Gibb’s vocal melodies have moments of sheer beauty contrasted against moments of brutality. The balance between softer and heavier music is not only perfect, but it’s laid out on the record brilliantly.”

- Groove Guide

“These Four Walls are the messengers delivering a package of beautiful melancholy, wrapped in severely addictive rock… Living to Write the End is world-class. This band has a universal flavour, and I hope they truly make their mark in the international alternative scene.”

- Muzic.net.nz

“These Four Walls have shown great restraint and vision to their song structures. Songs like Talons and Remedy have opportunities for the band to take it to a even heavier place, but the band opts to put colour and balance first over ego. Steve Gibb’s vocals are crisp and smooth with moments of pure anger”

- Chaos Cartel

Down Falls an Empire (2009)

The band’s debut album was released in September 2009 and spawned two Top 10 singles on the NZ Rock Charts – Sweet December and Lay it Out. The album broke online presale records in NZ on release, beating previous record holder Fat Freddy’s Drop, and reached # 22 on the NZ Album Chart.

Down Falls An Empire was engineered by Andrew Buckton (Midnight Youth, Steriogram, HLAH) at York St. & Studio 203 and was produced/mixed by Chris Van de Geer (Stellar*, Solstate).

“These Fall Walls deliver an album packed full with commercial tracks while retaining a sense of trueness and diversity. ...All 12 songs fit together exceptionally well and you get a real sense of the band, their connection with each other and with you, the listener. This is one album worth the wait.”

- Muzic.net.nz

“It is a highly energetic, heavy rock album that is splashed with emotion, passion, fire, cranking guitars and blazing solos.”

- Rip It Up

“Auckland band These Four Walls have achieved something extremely rare with their debut album Down Falls an Empire – they’ve produced a New Zealand rock album that truly holds its own against any number of major international releases.”

- Waikato Times


Left to right: Gray Vickers (Guitar), Elliot Burton (Bass Guitar), Brad Vickers (Drums), Steve Gibb (Vocals, Guitar)

Gray and Steve play Guitars


Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and even Myspace. Yeah, Myspace is still a thing. Who knew right? It looks way better now, but it’s kind of a ghost town. Anyway, you’ve got options, is what we’re trying to say. Holla back at us, dawg.

For booking or other management enquiries, please email us by clicking here